Home / Games & Gaming / Army man wins 2nd gold in Ayala Philippine athletics meet

Army man wins 2nd gold in Ayala Philippine athletics meet

The Philippine Army’s Richard Salaño topped the men’s 10,000 meters run event on Friday to collect his second gold medal in the Ayala Philippine Athletics Championships at the Ilagan Sports Complex here.

Salaño, an Information Technology graduate ofthe University of the East College of Computer Studies and Systems (CCSS), finished the race in 32 minutes and 30.67 seconds. Baguio City’s Erwin Bong Generalao clocked 33:48.48 to take the silver medal while Cesar Castaneto bagged the bronze medal in 34:32.05.

Salaño, who was named Most Valuable Player in the 77th season of the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP), pocketed his first gold medal on Thursday after winning the 3,000 meters steeplechase event in the tournament organized by the Philippine Amateur Track and Field Association (PATAFA).

In the women’s category, Run Rio-UP Team’s Ma. Elizabeth Capioso submitted the best time of 1:07:00.08 to win the gold medal. Adamson University’s Diana Jaspher Cadlaon won the silver in 1:08:55.48 while Philippine Army’s Elien Tolentino got the bronze in 1:09:13.77.

Sri Lankan R.A.D. Hemantha Kumara dominated the men’s 1,500 meters event in 3 minutes and 57.55 seconds. Philippine Army’s Aris Africa finished second in 3:58.31 followed by Philippine Air Force’s Mervin Guarte (3:58.43).

Philippine Army’s Ailene Tolentino won the women’s category in 4:52.55, beating Baguio City’s Cristabel Martes (5:12.78). Sabah Malaysia Team’s Marlin Hing William clocked 5:36.63 for third place.

Dasmariñas City’s Edwin Giron Jr. bagged the gold medal in the boys category with a time of 4:05.73. Cagayan de Oro City’s Erwin Mancao (4:06.71) and San Beda University-Manila’s Anthony Bacle Jr. (4:07.73) finished second and third, respectively.

The gold medal in the girls category went to RP Team-City of Ilagan’s Tara Borlain, who clocked 4:59.97. Baguio City’s Ira Mae Gali won the silver in 5:05.23 while National University’s Abegail Manzano took the bronze in 5:06.92.

Meanwhile, Adamson University’s Jeric Gaceta, Christian Olivares, Elias Ruther Cuevas and Alex Talledo ruled the men’s 4×100 meters relay event where the RP Team-City of Ilagan composed of Eric Shauwn Cray, Anfernee Lopena, Clinton Kingsley Bautista and Trenten Anthony Beram was disqualified.

Cray, a double-gold winner in the 2015 Southeast Asian Games, accidentally dropped the baton after receiving it from first runner Lopena.

Adamson won the gold in 43.42 seconds while the Run Rio-UP Team of Sean Michael Kaufman, Leonel Tigtig, Mark Harry Diones, and Aristeo dela Peña pocketed the silver in 43.94 seconds and San Beda University-Manila’s Ezra Gonzales, Jun Mark Larot, Patrick Bilches, and Joshua Tero clinched the bronze in 45.18 seconds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *