Home / Construction / Central Leyte gets P2.7B for infra projects in 2018

Central Leyte gets P2.7B for infra projects in 2018

The second legislative district of Leyte will get P2.7 billion budget for infrastructure development in 2018, considerably higher than this year’s allocation.

Leyte 2nd District Rep. Henry Ong said that he pushed for higher budget next year to improve access roads leading to far-flung villages. For 2017, the district got P1.7 billion.

The bulk of the amount for 2018 will fund new infrastructure projects identified by the district office as essential to the economic transport and development of the area.

“We have considerable amount for health and education programs, but the majority is still for infrastructure development since this is the key to unlock economic opportunities in Leyte,” Ong said.

“One thing I noticed in my visit to different areas, especially those located upland is the difficulty of life because of poor access from the town center.”

District Engineer Carlos Veloso said among those included in the 2018 budget is the construction of bridges in Mayorga and Dagami towns worth P400 million combined.

A new road project gets PHP85 million funding in Jaro town leading to a number of natural tourist destinations located in the village of Villa Conzoilo, twelve kilometres from Jaro town proper. These are Silawa Falls, Duka Falls and Kabagtan Falls which hemmed besides cloud-capped mountain ranges.

“There is already an existing road going towards Villa Conzoilo. The fund will be utilized for concreting of the road to increase tourism and ease traffic and transport of agricultural products,” Veloso said.

He added that this is one project being pushed by Leyte Governor Dominico Petilla and endorsed by the Regional Development Council in Eastern Visayas.

If completed, the road will provide an alternative route to Ormoc City, passing through another tourist destination – Lake Danao.

The 2018 budget is also appropriated for widening and road reblocking along the Palo-Carigara-Ormoc road. Veloso said that this vital highway that cuts across Leyte province had been steadily widened in order to accommodate increasing traffic flow.

Leyte’s 2nd congressional district covers the towns of Barugo, Burauen, Capoocan, Carigara, Dagami, Dulag, Jaro, Julita, La Paz, MacArthur, Mayorga, Pastrana, Tabontabon, and Tunga. These towns have a combined population of 406,359.

Meanwhile, the DPWH will soon start the construction of 27 disaster-resilient school building projects for Southern Leyte Province.

In a report, DPWH Southern Leyte District Engineer Ma. Margarita C. Junia said the projects with a total allocation of P84.6 million under the 2017 Basic Educational Facilities Fund are now up for bidding.

Of the 27 buildings, four will rise in Hinundayan town; three each in Sogod, St. Bernard, Bontoc, and Padre Burgos; two each in Limasawa, Silago, and San Francisco; and one each in Liloan, Pintuyan, Malitbog, Macrohon, and Tomas Oppus towns.

The school buildings which will be implemented in 13 towns of the province will have an average of two classrooms, adopting design standards capable to withstand strong winds and earthquakes.

“For the past years, the country has experienced series of strong typhoons and lately ground tremors, specifically areas here in Eastern Visayas, prompting the Department of Education (DepEd) and DPWH to upgrade its standard classroom design,” Junia said.

The structural component of the buildings such as footing, columns, and beams will also be expanded for safer and more conducive learning space for students.

Junia added that the District Office will be working double time for the prompt completion of the 27 school building projects that are only a fraction of the massive DepEd projects in the province amounting to P1.21 billion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *