Home / Games & Gaming / Swimmer Borres wins gold in Aklan
Mari Joe Borres (Photo VIA Philippine Swimming League Facebook Page)

Swimmer Borres wins gold in Aklan

Marie Joe Borres pulled off a stunning victory recently in the 115th Philippine Swimming League-2nd Gov. Miraflores Swim Cup in Boracay, Aklan. 

Borres clocked 4:16.40 to win the 400-meter event in the girls’ 12-year-old category, beating the two-time Palarong Pambansa Most Outstanding Swimmer awardee Kyla Soguilon, who took the bronze with a time of 4:26.83. Karla Isabell Labayen (4:23.20) won the silver.

Kyla’s brother, Kobe, meanwhile, bagged the gold medal in the boys’ 16-above category of the centerpiece 600-meter Open Water event with a time of 6:39.06.

Recz Edward Agustin finished second (7:58.12) while Ariel Mesa (10:41.44) placed third.

Ony Valencia dominated the boys’ 15-year-old category in 6:35.67 while Paul Anzon Milanes (7:19.62) took the silver and Lance Roldan (7:56.35) settled for the bronze.

Those who also topped their respective age categories in the 600-meter event were Lucio Cuyong II (boys’ 13-year-old), Angela Figalan (girls’ 13-year-old), Riandrea Chico (girls’ 15-year-old) and Laira Enero (girls’ 16-above).

The other gold medalists were Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh (girls’ 10-year-old 200m), Marc Bryan Dula (boys’ 10-year-old 200m), Azryle Jeca Garcia (girl’ 9-year 200m), Lowestein Julian Lazaro (boys’ 14-year-old 400m), Roselle Palma (girls’ 7-year-old 200m), Kate Roberto (girls’ 8-year-old 200m), King Roberto (boys’ 6-under 200m), Aishel Cid Evangelista (boys’ 7-year-old 200m), Master Charles Janda (boys’ 8-year-old 200m), Lord Janda (boys’ 9-year-old 200m), Joanna Amor Cervas (girls’ 11-year-old 400m), Jennuel Booh De Leon (boys’ 11-year-old 400m) and Jermaine Eulin (boys’ 12-year 400m).

“We have spotted a lot of talented swimmers here in Aklan and we’re hoping to develop them, give them proper training and exposure to improve their talent. It’s a step-by-step process and hopefully one day, they’ll blossom into full-grown swimmers,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

The Aklan Swimming Team garnered 1,361 points to claim the overall title followed by the Metro Iloilo Poseidon Swim Club (343 points) and the Navotas Swim Team (225 points).

Also in the top 10 were Susan Papa Swim Academy, Panaad Swim Team, Capiz Turbo Shark Swim Club, Ichthus Swim Team, Team Juvelo, Eacica Varsity Swim Team and Assa Villa Mejia Swim Team. PNA 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *