Home / Games & Gaming / Top athletes feted in PSA Awards
PSC chairman William Ramirez (extreme right) poses with Athletes of the Year awardees (from left) IBF superflyweight champion Jerwin Ancajas, bowler Krizziah Lyn Tabora and billiards player Carlo Biado during the annual Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) Awards Night held recently at Manila Hotel’s Maynila Ballroom. REYMUNDO G. NILLAMA

Top athletes feted in PSA Awards

International Boxing Federation (IBF) junior bantamweight champion Jerwin Ancajas led the cast of the awardees of the annual Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) Awards at the Manila Hotel’s Maynila Ballroom recently.

Ancajas was named as Athlete of the Year for his brilliance in the ring as he kept his title belt for the entire 2017, including a successful defense early this year.

The alliance of print and online sportswriters also named cue master Carlo Biado and bowler Krizziah Lyn Tabora as Athletes of the Year.

Tabora won the women’s title in the Bowling World Cup, while Carlo Biado took home the World 9-Ball Championship last year.

“Isa itong magandang alaala na nangyari sa buhay ang pagiging Athlete of the Year,” said Biado. “Hindi ko ine-expect ito. Ang pangarap ko lang naman po ay magkaroon ng maayos na pamilya at maging world champion balang araw.”

The PSA also feted the team that successfully bid for the Fiba World Cup hosting rights for 2023 as it was given the President’s Award.

Sportsman-businessman Manny Pangilinan, who gave a speech just as his team received the award from PSA President Dodo Catacutan, led the said team.

Meanwhile, former PSA president Gus Villanueva was given the Lifetime Achievement Award for his work in the sportswriting field and even leading the Journal Group of Publications.

Ramon Ang and Ernesto Echauz were also named Executives of the Year, while the Triathlon Association of the Philippines was named the National Sports Association (NSA) of the Year.

The other main awardees include Terrence Romeo (Mr. Fan Favorite), Junemar Fajardo (Mr. Basketball), Dawn Macandili (Ms. Volleyball), Marck Espejo (Mr. Volleyball), and Clyde Mondilla (Mr. Golf). PNA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *