Bolick leads way in BPC race

By Robert Andaya

Robert Bolick of NLEX emerged as the runaway leader in the Best Player of the Conference (BPC) race in the PBA Season 48 Philippine Cup.

In his first full conference since his PBA comeback late in the Commissioner’s Cup, Bolick leads all players with 49.2 statistical points.

The former San Beda University standout has a league-best averages of 29.5 points highlighted by a single game high of 46 points and 7.2 assists and 5.8 rebounds in the Road Warriors’ first six games.

Trailing Bolick are NorthPort’s Arvin Tolentino (43.6 SPs), Terrafirma rookie Stephen Holt (40.2), seven-time MVP June Mar Fajardo of San Miguel Beer (37.0) and Rain or Shine’s Leonard Santillan (35.9) in the SPs standings through April 7.

CJ Perez of San Miguel, fresh from winning the BPC award in the Commissioner’s Cup, occupied sixth spot with 33.8 SPs, followed by Calvin Oftana of TNT (33.3), Beau Belga of Rain or Shine (31.9), Juami Tiongson of Terrafirma (31.9) and Christian Standhardinger of Barangay Ginebra (31.8)

Also within striking distance are NorthPort’s Cade Flores (31.0), San Miguel’s Don Trollano (30.3), Meralco’s Chris Newsome (29.4), Ginebra’s Jamie Malonzo (29.0), Phoenix’s Jason Perkins (28.8), Ginebra’s Maverick Ahanmisi (28.7), TNT’s RR Pogoy (28.6), NorthPort’s Joshua Munzon (28.6), who is No. 1 in steals with 3.6, Blackwater’s Troy Rosario (28.3) and SMB’s Jericho Cruz (28.3).

Actually, Bolick is gunning for his first BPC as do Top 5 bets Tolentino (24.0 points, 7.6 rebounds, 5.0 assists), top pick Holt (20.2 markers, 8.8 boards, 4.7 assists and 2.3 steals), and Santillan (21.6 points, 9.6 rebounds).

Fajardo, the tournament’s leading rebounder with 12.3 caroms per outing that goes with 14.3 points, is running for a record-extending 10th BPC

Standhardinger (14.8 points, 10.5 boards, 4.2 dimes) is eyeing his third.

After Holt and Flores (12.2 points, 8.4 rebounds, 2.4 assists per game), the other best-performing rookies so far are Batang Pier Zavier Lucero (25.2), ROS’s Adrian Nocum (24.3) and TNT’s Henry Galinato (21.8).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *