Graphic Salute Awardees in Literature (Photo Credit: Boy Villasanta)

Nick Joaquin Literary Awards: A gathering of giants in the arts

By Boy Villasanta

It is the fourth year of the Graphic Salute Awards organized by the Philippine Graphic and Philippine Graphuc Reader.

The Graphic Salute Awards is a component of the Nick Joaquin Literary Awards (NJLA), a jewel event that recognizes the brilliance and relevance of Filipino writers.

As such, whoever wins in the various categories of NJLA are given the accolades he or she deserves.

In the Graphic Salute Awards given Tuesday evening at the Samsung Theater in SM Aurà in Taguig City the illustrious names in Philippine letters were mostly around to share the artistic achievements of their colleagues.

National Artists for Film and Broadcast Arts Ricky Lee, for Literature Gemino Abad and for Visual Arts Ben Cabrera, also known as BenCab were present to integrate their 

There were eighty-two recipients of the 2024 Graphic Salute Awards who were proud and committed to the advancement of Philippine arts and culture to change society for better, particularly in the writing field.

Some of the awardees were Rosario Garcellano, also known as Chato Garcellano, Francisco Y. Arcellana, Ramil Gulle, Ma. Ceres Doyo, Nestor Cuartero, Pablo Tariman, Yvette Tan etc.

Marra PL. Lanot, the Editor of Philippine Graphic Readet and T. Anthony Cabangon, publisher of Philippine Graphic and Philippine Graphic Reader were at the forefront to bestow awards to the outstanding writers.

These writers have published and won the NJLA in poetry and fiction.

The NJLA is a tribute to Nick Joaquin, also known as Quijano de Manila, National Artist for Literature.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *