Charo Santos (Photo Credit: Boy Villasanta)

“OTJ: The Missing 8” Best Film at 5th Eddys

Reality Entertainment’s “On the Job: The Missing 8” has proven once more its worth as the crème de la crème film harvests in 2021 when Eddys Awards of the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (Speed) named it Best Film in its 5th year awards night held at the Metropolitan Theater in Manila.

Six out of nine categories were won by “OTJ: The Missing 8” that Joe Caliro, one of the producers of the movie, made to go onstage for narrating his creatives’ memorable experiences in the making of the film and thanksgiving.

Erik Matti won Best Director for the film in absentia. According to Joe, Erik was in Europe for the marketing, showing and attending awards ceremonies where his masterpiece was nominated.

Former ABS-CBN Broadcasting Corporation’s President Charo Santos-Concio took home the Best Actress plum for her out-of-the-box performance in “Kun Maupay Man It Panahon.”

Young thespian Christian Bables romped away with the Best Actor trophy for his multidimensional characterization in “Big Night.”   

Other major awards were:

  • Best Supporting Actor—Mon Confiado, “Arisaka”
  • Best Supporting Actress—Lotlot de Leon, “OTJ: The Missing 8”
  • Best Sound—Corrine de San Jose, “OTJ: The Missing 8”
  • Best Musical Score—triple tie for Erwin Romulo, Malek Lopez and Arvin Nogueras for “OTJ,” Teresa Barrozo for “Big Night” and Cesar Francis Concio “Love is Color Blind”
  • Best Original Theme Song—“Maghihintay” by Marion Aunor for “More than Blue”
  • Best Visual Effects—Mothership for “OTJ”
  • Best Editing—Jay Halili for “OTJ”
  • Best Production Design—Whammy Alcazaren for “Kun Maupay Man It Panahon”
  • Best Cinematography—Neil Derrik Bion for “OTJ”
  • Best Screenplay—Jun Robles Lana for “Big Night”

Special Awards:

  • Isah V. Red Awards—Kapuso Foundation, Sagip Kapamilya, Gretchen Barretto, Kris Aquino and Alfred Vargas  
  • Male and Female Faces of the Night by Bautederm—Alexa Miro and Sean de Guzman
  • Best Rising Producers Circle—Rein Entertainment
  • Best Producer of the Year—Viva Entertainment
  • Posthumous Awards—Susan Roces and Cherie Gil
  • Movie icons—Tito, Vic and Joey, Helen Gamboa, Alma Moreno, Sharon Cuneta, Divina Valencia, Elizabeth Oropesa and Roi Vinzon
  • Manny Pichel Award—Eric Ramos
  • Joe Quirino Award—Mario Dumaual

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.